The Crimson White

President, 5 executive candidates unopposed

Melissa Brown

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

For the first time in at least a decade, the Student Government Association presidential race will be uncontested.

According to a list released by Kelli Knox-Hall, assistant director of operations for the Ferguson Center, Jimmy Taylor will be the only candidate running for SGA President. Five out of the other six Executive Council office races will also be uncontested.

Emily Passwaters and Mary Wills will vie for the Executive Secretary position.

According to, candidates will attend training and orientation on Monday, Feb. 18 and Tuesday, Feb. 19. The official campaign period begins on Monday, Feb. 25, and polls will open at 7 a.m. Tuesday, March 12.

Candidates for SGA Executive Council offices:

President: Jimmy Taylor

Vice President for Academic Affairs: Allison Montgomery

Vice President for External Affairs: Parker Graham

Vice President for Financial Affairs: Christopher Willis

Vice President for Student Affairs: Hamilton Bloom

Executive Vice President: Will Pylant

Executive Secretary: Emily Passwaters, Mary Wills

Candidates for SGA Senate positions:

College of Arts and Sciences:

Patrick James Blackmon, Jackson Britton, Michael Bryant, Carson Smith Cleveland, William Eades, Jake Eigner, Chelsea Ellis, Branden Greenberg, Laura Gregory, Bethany Herndon, Anthony James, Jonathan Lasley, Haddon Mullins, Samuel Parker, Joy Prinsell, Eric Roddy, Sean Ross, Lakeisha Skinner, Megan Smith, Elliot Spillers and Jamie Suckow

Communication and Information Sciences: Samuel Barnes, Kristen Ellis, Blair Martin, Joseph Raja, Kendall Sellers and Justin Thompson

Commerce & Business Administration: Olivia Acker, Cole Adams, Robert Dominick Bietighofer, Drew Bridges, Jon Bryant, Tucker Joseph Helms, Andrew Horn, Stephen Keller, Jonathan, Blake Knohl, Kevin Paul, Katie Plott, Priscilla Marie Ramer, Robert David Sauers, Robert Smith, Steven Ross Umphrey and Gracie Willingham

College of Education: Douglas Logan and Erin Wallach

Engineering: Matthew Anderson, Grayson Dennis, Kasey Garrick, Carter Goodwyn, Whitney Lott, Caleb Lundy, Tate Thomas, Simeon Turner and Abby White

Graduate School: Thomas Lee Hiltz, II, Rebecca Rose Lutonsky, Gregory Poole and Paul Thompson

Human and Environmental Sciences: Taylor Autrey, Amanda Crowe, Emily Presmanes, Kaitlyn Robinson and Leslie Nichole Whitfield

Law School: Nathan Cordle, Kassie Hall, Ayla Luers and Lane Morrison

Nursing: Chandlar Fowler and Monicka Roden

School of Social Work: Stephanie Craig

Two candidates have yet to be added to the list of Senate candidates pending earned hours and GPA verification, Elections Board co-chair Madalyn Vaughn said Sunday. The Crimson White will update the story on as needed. 

Leading in today’s Crimson White:

[Guest Column] Gender-based acts of violence are the problem, not false reporting of crime

[Opinion] Freshman Advisor position the right step forward for UA

[Opinion] Saban should remove criminal players without question

Leave a Comment
Serving the campus of the University of Alabama since 1894
President, 5 executive candidates unopposed